Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
The US Department of State requires either a Check or Money Order to be attached to the passport application.
Check/Money Order should be made out the: US Department of State.
We do not take Appointments. We only accept Walk-ins. Typically running Tuesday-Thursday 9:30AM-3:00PM, but please contact the courts for processing times Tuesday-Thursday.
No, the District Clerk's Office does not process adult renewals, UNLESS the passport has been expired for over 5 years.
Routine Service: 10-13 Weeks
Expedited Service: 7-9 Weeks
The Passport Agency sends frequent updates on Processing times, be sure to check for the most current time frames.
No. Everyone who is applying for said Passport will need to be present.
YES! Everyone who is applying for a Passport must be present, as well as anyone under the Age of 16 will need both Parents to be in attendance.
Yes! As of January 2023, we are now taking Passport Photos. This fee can be paid with any form of payment.
No, we do not issue Emergency Passports. You will need to apply through the US Department of State's website to receive
No. The Clerk's Processing Fee and Passport Application fee have to be separate. The Clerk's Fee can be paid with Cash, Check, or Card.
The Passport Agency prefers the CERTIFIED Long-Form Birth Certificate. Most Short-Form Texas and California (abstract) versions of Birth Certificates may or may not be acceptable for Passport purposes.
An Amended Birth Certificate must be filed with the State Texas Department of Health.
See the form and Instructions.
A Delayed Birth Certificate must be filed with the State of Texas Department of Health.
See the form and instructions.
On-Site Sewage Facilities (Septic Systems)
Onsite (or decentralized) wastewater treatment systems are used to treat wastewater from a home or business and return treated wastewater back into the receiving environment.
Kaufman County requires 1 acre of usable space.
ANY work on an OSSF (On-Site Sewage Facilities) must be performed by a licensed installer.
A permit is required to install a septic system in Texas. The Legislature, in the Health and Safety Code, designates the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) or its Authorized Agent to investigate and decide whether to approve a permit request. Kaufman County is an Authorized Agent.
Kaufman County requires a maintenance contract be kept on all aerobic systems. These are usually annual and must be submitted to Development Services 30 days prior to the expiration of previous contract to avoid any lapse in coverage.
Any questions regarding on-site wastewater septic system permitting, inspections, or license transferring can be answered by emailing Publicworks.
If you reside in the city limits of Oak Ridge, then you would need to contact them. They are the only City in Kaufman County that are Authorized Agents. All others residing in City Limits and have a septic question will be handled by Development Services.
Nuisance complaints: email@example.com
The district attorney analyzes and gathers evidence to determine if there are grounds for criminal prosecution of cases within their districts and presents cases at trial.
A district attorney in Texas has the following duties:
The Kaufman County Criminal District Attorney's Office is one of the statutory prosecuting authorities in the State of Texas. The primary prosecuting officers are: The County Attorney which generally prosecutes misdemeanor crimes and advises the county on all civil matters; a District Attorney who prosecutes felonies only, and; a Criminal District Attorney which combines the offices of County and District Attorney. Kaufman County has a Criminal District Attorney with the responsibility of prosecuting all misdemeanors and felonies while advising and representing the county in civil matters. The authority of the Criminal District Attorney is extremely broad. Within his/her jurisdiction, in this case Kaufman County, the Criminal District Attorney has sole discretion as to whether or not a case is prosecuted. A prosecutor can dismiss a charge or refuse to accept a charge on his own volition and there is no appeal.
The District Attorney's Office handles civil matters in addition to its criminal responsibilities. In Kaufman County the Criminal District Attorney's Office advises the county on civil issues and represents the county in some civil matters. The Criminal District Attorney handles all mental commitments, protective orders, extraditions, renders legal opinions to all elected officials in the county and reviews all contracts entered into by the county. This office also has the responsibility of representing the state in matters involving child abuse and neglect and all juvenile matters before the court.
The Criminal District Attorney's Office provides a 24 hour on call system for law enforcement. This allows law enforcement to have access to legal advice at any time. Our office encourages such consultation regarding arrests, searches and the filing of appropriate charges to ensure that crimes may be prosecuted and punished. It is only through such cooperation that our legal system can function to serve and protect our community.
Any crime should always be reported to your local law enforcement agency. The Criminal District Attorney’s Office is not a direct referral agency.
If you live in a city or town, that report would be made to your local police department. If the crime is committed outside a city or town, or in an area of the county where the Sheriff’s Office patrols, your report should be made to the Kaufman County Sheriff’s Office. Of course, if your report is an emergency, call 911.
Felony: If the case is charged as a felony, a felony prosecutor will review the case to determine if it should be accepted for prosecution. If the case is accepted, it will be presented to a grand jury for consideration. A witness may be required to testify before the grand jury. The grand jury will either return an indictment against the defendant or no-bill the case. If the case is indicted, the prosecution proceeds until there is a resolution of the case. A no-bill means there is not sufficient probable cause to move the case forward.
Misdemeanor: If the case is charged as a misdemeanor, the case is filed in a County Court at Law or Justice of the Peace Court. The prosecution proceeds until there is a resolution of the case.
Texas law requires action by the grand jury in most instances before a felony case can be brought to trial. If the grand jury believes that there is probable cause to prove that a person has committed a felony, it votes to issue an indictment. A no-bill means that there is not sufficient probable cause to move the case forward. The District Attorney’s Office assists the grand jury in hearing evidence and preparing indictments, but the actual deliberations are secret. Only the grand jurors are present during deliberations and voting on the cases.
Plea bargaining can be a complex procedure, but in general, it occurs when the State and the defendant, through their respective attorneys, agree that the defendant will plead guilty to one or more pending criminal cases in return for a specific sentence, subject to approval by the court.
A prosecutor assigned to a criminal case will evaluate the facts and circumstances of the case and make a determination of what punishment (sentence) to offer to the defendant in return for his plea of guilty to the charge in the case. This recommended punishment is based on the prosecutor's view of the case and its facts and his or her experience in trial with similar cases having similar facts. The defendant's attorney will make a similar assessment and either advise his client to accept or not. If the defendant does not accept the offer, the case is set for trial. If the defendant accepts the punishment recommendation in return for his plea of guilty, a written plea bargain agreement is signed by the attorneys and the defendant, the defendant pleads guilty, and the court accepts the plea and assesses punishment in accordance with the plea bargain agreement.
The court, however, may not accept the plea or the plea bargain agreement, in which case the attorneys and the defendant may reopen negotiations or the case is tried before the court or before a jury.
The decision to dismiss a pending criminal case can be made only by a prosecutor. Prosecutors make independent professional judgments within the bounds of the policies of the Criminal District Attorney’s Office as to whether a case merits prosecution. If the prosecutor decides to file a motion to dismiss a case, the dismissal must be approved by a judge. A victim’s wishes will be considered in the decision to file, try, or dismiss a prosecution. A victim’s thoughts are always welcomed by the prosecutor assigned to a case.
A subpoena will be issued directing a witness to appear in court on a specific day and time for the purpose of testifying. If a witness refuses to appear after the subpoena is delivered, the prosecutor will ask that a warrant (called “an attachment”) be issued for the witness’s arrest and confinement in jail until the witness testifies. Willful failure to obey a lawful order of a court, such as a subpoena, is an act of contempt for which the witness may be punished by the court. After all of that, a witness will still have to testify. A witness must testify truthfully. False testimony as to important facts while under oath in an official proceeding (such as a trial) is a very serious felony offense.
In the State of Texas, a defendant can elect to have a jury or judge determine if he is guilty or innocent. If the defendant decides to have the judge make the determination, the State must agree or the trial will be by a jury.
Once a defendant has been found guilty, he must have some punishment assessed. Again, the defendant can elect to have either the judge or jury determine his punishment. Both sides can put on more evidence at that time. There are times when the State and the defendant agree on punishment and there is no hearing.
A defendant has the right to appeal his case. In Texas, there are two stages of appeal in a criminal case. The first stage is to a court of appeals. For Kaufman County, the appellate court is the 5th Court of Appeals in Dallas. The defendant can further appeal his case to the Court of Criminal Appeals in Austin.
No. The appellate court may choose not to entertain argument by either the defendant or this office and will advise the parties that no argument will be permitted. The appellate court decides the vast majority of cases on the briefs and records without oral argument. Following the submission of the case, with or without oral argument, the appellate court will issue a written opinion either affirming (upholding) the conviction or reversing (overturning) the conviction as to the guilt and punishment assessed against the defendant. Occasionally the court will only overturn the punishment assessed.
Yes. The defendant may file a petition for writ of certiorari to the United States Supreme Court or in federal district court by filing a writ of habeas corpus. He may also file a writ of habeas corpus for relief in the Court of Criminal Appeals.
We are open Monday thru Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM.
No. We do not provide any forms in office. You can visit www.Texaslawhelp.org for information and Forms for filing a suit.
Yes! We do Process Passports. Tuesday-Thursday 9:30AM-3:00PM, but we do suggest calling to verify our current hours of operation.
We take Cash, Check, or Card. Please note, if you use a card, you will be charged a convenience fee.
The election is Tuesday, November 8, 2022 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. See times and locations here.
To get a COVID-19 test please call your healthcare physician or pharmacy.
Please visit Office of Emergency Management | Kaufman County, TX webpage and click the tab on the left side that reads "Get Notified" and follow the prompts.
No. Due to traffic congestion and hundreds or thousands of other residents trying to get to public shelters, it could have tragic consequences.
Have a plan to get to the nearest well-constructed building to take shelter during a tornado.
Only the voter who voted the ballot can hand-deliver their ballot. The voter must present an acceptable form of identification when delivering their ballot. If a voter does not possess and cannot reasonably obtain an acceptable form of photo identification, the voter may show a List B identification and complete a reasonable impediment declaration (RID). (Sections 86.006, 63.001, 63.0101).
The voter must execute (sign) their Carrier Envelope as if they were preparing for it to be mailed (except for postage). The marked ballot must be enclosed in the Carrier Envelope. The carrier-envelope must be signed, as the ballot will be sent to the early voting ballot board to verify the voter’s signature pursuant to Section 87.041.
The following steps should be followed when a voter hand-delivers their marked ballot to the early voting clerk's office:
The election official should notify the voter that presenting an acceptable form of identification is required when hand-delivering a marked ballot. If the voter refuses to present an acceptable ID, the election official should inform the voter that if they do not present an acceptable ID and insist on leaving the ballot, the ballot will be treated as improperly delivered and will not be sent to the early voting ballot board. The election official should also notify the voter that they can mail the ballot and as long as the envelope is postmarked by 7 pm on election day and received by the early voting clerk no later than 5 pm the next business day after election day, the ballot will be sent to the early voting ballot board for processing.
Note: The Election Code sets later deadlines for the receipt of ballots by mail from certain military and overseas civilian voters using a Federal Post Card Application (FPCA) or ABBM. (Sections 86.007(d), 101.057)
The election official should notify the person dropping off the ballot that only the voter can hand-deliver their ballot. If an individual insists on dropping off someone else’s ballot, the ballot will be treated as improperly delivered and will not be sent to the early voting ballot board for counting.
No. The law does not authorize the use of drop boxes for the in-person delivery of marked mail ballots. As described above, only the voter can drop off their own ballot; through this process, the voter must present an acceptable form of identification and sign the “Signature Roster – Hand Delivery of Ballot by Mail” form. These procedures require the voter to interact with an election official.
Answer goes here...
You will have to call our office. The Hot Check Department phone number is 469-376-4771.
Payments can be made in person, by mail or on our website. Make hot check payments online!
Our mailing address is:Kaufman County District Attorney's OfficeAttn: Hot Check Department100 W MulberryKaufman, TX 75142
The Hot Check Department accepts cashier checks, money orders, cash, and debit/credit card.
You need to call our office at 469-376-4771. It is possible you could have a Theft By Check Charge or Court Costs and Fines due at a Justice of the Peace Court or a number of other reasons.
You must appear in person and have a driver's License or a state-issued ID with your picture on it.
All payments are due on the 15th of each month unless otherwise noted when you came to get on the payment plan.
Whoever qualifies and who the court finds that family violence has been committed against them and is likely to be committed against them in the future.
Any adult member of the family or of a dating relationship.
Any adult may apply for a Protective Order to protect a child from family violence.
There is no fee for someone who applies for a Protective Order. If a court grants an application for a Protective Order, then the court can order the Respondent, the one who committed the family violence, to pay court costs and the District Attorney’s Office attorney’s fees.
The Applicant or in some instances the Protected Person.
They refer to them as "the Respondent".
Imminent means near at hand; mediate rather than immediate; close rather than touching; impending; on the point of happening; threatening; menacing; perilous.
A threat of imminent bodily injury requires a present rather than a future threat.
As long as you do not have any pending criminal cases with the District Attorney’s Office in the County, the District Attorney’s Office of the County you qualify for a Protective Order in can file a Protective Order for you on your behalf without any cost to you.
You can hire any attorney licensed in the State of Texas to represent you in a Protective Order.
If you qualify for a Protective Order and the District Attorney's Office agrees to take the case, then an Application for a Protective Order and a Temporary Ex Parte Protective Order. If the Judge signs the Temporary Ex Parte Protective Order, then a date must be set within 20 days.
If an extension of the Temporary Ex Parte order is ever needed after the first court setting, then the next court date must be set within 14 days if the Respondent had not been served. Otherwise, you can ask for the rescheduled setting to be within 20 days.
then you must:
And if the Presiding Judge finds that there is a clear and present danger that the person to excluded likely to commit family violence against a member of the household.
No, an exclusion paragraph in a Protective Order does not affect the title of the property.
Yes. You or your attorney can request the court to exclude this information. If granted, the court will order the clerk to stride the information from public records and maintain a confidential record of the information for use only by the court.
A Temporary Ex Parte Protective Order is only good for 20 days unless there is a request for an extension of the order.
No hearing is required for it to be signed by a Judge unless you are trying to exclude the Respondent from the residence.
If the Respondent violates the order, he is in contempt of court and the Judge can have the Respondent arrested and fined.
A Final Protective Order after a hearing is good for up to 2 years.
The Respondent must be served with notice of the hearing at least 48 hours prior to the court setting. He is entitled to a hearing if he chooses.
If the Judge grants the Final Protective Order after a hearing and the Respondent violates the Protective Order, then he has committed a criminal offense and can be arrested.
The Applicant of a Protective Order is responsible for making sure the Respondent has been served at least 48 hours before the court setting.
If the Respondent has not been served, then an extension will be needed.
If the Respondent was not served with notice at least 48 hours before the court setting, then he can ask for a rescheduling date an then the applicant can request an extension.
No. As long as they are the one asking for the rescheduling and they have already received notice, they do not have to be served with notice again.
Violation of a Protective Order is a Class A misdemeanor with a punishment range of up to 1 year in the county jail and a fine up to $4,000.
Yes, a distribution sheet is given to the District Clerk’s office designating who the Protective Order is to be sent to the agency that would respond to the 911 call at the Protected Person/Applicant’s residence is on the Distribution Sheet. These agencies should keep them on file for the duration of the Protective Order.
Up to 2 years.
Then it is considered to be a Default Judgment and the Protective Order will be granted.
If the Protective Order has been violated or if there is a threatened harm that reasonably places the Protected Person/Applicant in fear of imminent physical harm, bodily injury, assault, or sexual assault, then you can get another final Protective Order.
Then a hearing is not needed.
No. If the Respondent violates a Final Protective Order that was agreed to by all parties, the criminal consequences are the same as if the Judge had granted the Final Protective Order after a hearing.
ax notices are usually mailed in early October. Taxes are due upon receipt of the statement and must be paid by January 31st. If payment is mailed in late January, please be sure to have the envelope postmarked by the postal service no later than January 31st.
Penalty/Interest begins to accrue at the statutory rate of 7% on February 1st and will increase on the 1st day of each month thereafter. Additionally, 15% to 20% attorney fees are added on July 1st.
Yes. There will be a fee charged if using credit card. By phone, call 1-866-549-1010. At the prompt, enter Bureau Code 5499044. After authorization of your payment, you will be given a confirmation number that you should keep for your records.
Pay online via the Kaufman County Tax Office by selecting Pay Your Taxes by Credit Card.
If your taxes are to be paid by a mortgage company and you received the statement, write your loan number on the tax notice and send it immediately to your mortgage company.
If you do not receive a tax statement before November 1st of each year, contact the Kaufman County Tax Office and request a statement to be mailed. However, failure to receive a tax notice does not affect the validity of the tax, penalty, interest, the due date, the existence of a tax lien, or any procedure instituted to collect a tax (section 31.01[g] Texas Property Tax Code). It is the property owners’ responsibility to make sure that the correct name and address are listed for each property owned.
This office accepts cash, checks, money orders, cashier’s checks, MasterCard, Visa and Discover. There is a convenience fee added if paying with MasterCard, Visa or Discover.
Send payments to:Brenda SamplesKaufman CountyP.O. BOX 339Kaufman, TX 75142-0339
Contact your local County Appraisal District and they will be able to assist you with any exemption qualification questions. Contact information for the following County Appraisal Districts (CADs) are as follows:
For information regarding tax rates and tax bills, contact your County Tax Office. For information regarding property values, exemptions, protests, etc., contact your County Appraisal District.
Yes. This office does accept partial payments, but does not make formal payment arrangements other than the Over 65 Homestead Plan (see next question). However, any remaining balance not paid by January 31st will begin to accrue penalty and interest. Should you wish to make a partial payment, please write your property ID/account number on your check/money order with the words partial payment.
This option applies only to property the person occupies as a residence homestead, and only to those persons who are disabled or 65 years of age or considered totally disabled under Supplemental Security Income (SSI). If you are qualified for over 65 or disabled exemptions, you may make your payments in four equal installments without incurring penalty and interest, if paid in the following manner:
The U.S. Postal Service postmark is used to determine the timeliness of mailed payments. If you fail to make a payment before the due date, the unpaid amount is delinquent and incurs penalty and interest as provided by Texas Tax Code section 31.031 (b) and 33.01 (c).
You will need to contact your local Appraisal District at 972-932-6081 to make any changes to your account. The Appraisal District will direct you regarding name changes and/or address changes.
Check your closing papers or contact the title company. It is possible that the title company may have collected from the seller and credited you at the time of closing which would mean that you, as the new owner, are responsible for paying the tax when due.
Your tax statement is based on the appraised value less any exemptions. Values are set by the Kaufman County Appraisal District. The tax rates are set by each entity. Contact the Kaufman County Appraisal District for more information.